church of s. ferdinando re
The small village square is dominated by King Ferdinando’s church. It was built in 1771 and entrusted to the Capuchin friars. For centuries the island was considered just a remote annex of the Aeolian archipelago, then, with the building of the church, it acquired a dignity of its own. Here the symbol of the union between a community and its strength is combined with spirituality, as if it wanted to be legitimized by a consecration. One of the most regular visitors to the island was Giovanni De Simone, the eclectic ceramist and creator of the naive and brightly coloured enamelled images. De Simone donated beautiful glazed ceramic statues to King Ferdinando’s church, unique works given that the artist always devoted his attention to subjects of normal, everyday life.